Ann Hathaway Admits to Starving Herself for ‘Les Mis’

I saw this episode of Chelsea Lately on tv the other night and felt like I needed to share it with others. During the interview (around the 2:20 mark) Ann Hathaway talks about how she starved herself to play Fantine in the new movie Les Miserables. She also discusses how her extreme dieting for the movie affected her moods and even her relationship. In an article by dailymail.co.uk I read that not only did she not sleep while trying to lose the 25 pounds, she had even broken her arm because she was so thin and frail. Although she was portraying a character who was dying, I think that these are extreme measures for playing a role in a movie. The film industry has a toxic preoccupation with extreme thinness, and it sends an awful message to young girls of not only what they need to look like, but also what they need to do to be accepted.

3 thoughts on “Ann Hathaway Admits to Starving Herself for ‘Les Mis’

  1. Danielle Turo February 19, 2013 at 3:31 am Reply

    I’m sorry but I disagree with you. Ann Hathaway, as well as other actors who lost weight for their roles, is an artist who was working hard to impersonate the character that she was playing. They are doing their jobs to produce a movie, a piece of art for us to enjoy. Their hard work helps us to visualize and to feel the pain that their character is going through. Their sacrifice is for the full purpose of art and entertainment. Just like Tom Hanks did for “Cast Away”, Christian Bale for the movie “The Fighter”, and so many others. This is hard work, and devotion to their profession. Though I don’t think that losing this much weight so quick is healthy, these actors don’t do it for vanity as you made sound like, but for work purposes.

  2. ldudley78 February 22, 2013 at 3:46 am Reply

    I had seen this as well. It is so disturbing that we would think it is necessary to do this to play a part in a movie. Just think about the damage she is doing to her body. The same goes for runway models. Here is a link to an article I found that talks about the extremes they go to.

    http://fashion.telegraph.co.uk/news-features/TMG9524919/From-cocaine-to-eating-cotton-wool-balls-how-models-stay-thin.html

  3. sas770 March 1, 2013 at 12:26 am Reply

    This is pretty interesting; but think about the role for a second. I saw the movie/musical and OMG, she was super thin, but her part required her to be. Now, think about the millions of dollars she earned for that role. What would you do for 10 million dollars?? I know that if I had that opportunity, I would have jumped at it too. However, I agree that Hollywood takes it to extremes! I have a hard time with trying to lose the 10-15 lbs. I need to lose normally; but I would not imagine going to the extremes that they go through to get that thin 30-40 minutes a day is about all I have time for. Also, I don’t need to be a certain size for my job, nor do I have the time to work that hard on it. I want to be comfortable in my own skin, but I don’t want to hurt myself to get there either. I want a manageable diet/exercise routine. Something that I can keep up for a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

